In May I wrote a blog post about my fitness journey. I maintained the regime I had established for a month before I promptly dropped it again. When I broke up with an ex boyfriend in August, I restarted it, but it lasted for all of a month again before I once again gave it up.

A month ago I did horribly on an exam. I burst into tears walking out of the examination room and drove myself to the grocery store to purchase a frozen pizza, 20-oz bottle of Coke, and a King Size Reese’s cup package as a way to try to cheer myself up and feel less worthless.

When I tasted the pizza it seemed overly sweet. I checked the ingredient label and noticed that there were 42g of added sugar per 1/3 of pizza. From that moment I threw out the rest of it and decided I had had enough. I cut out processed foods and added sugars without any real reason. Two weeks after that I watched the documentary Fed Up on Netflix and began to understand how poor of a relationship I had had with food my entire life and how dangerous sugar is.

I am one month into my new lifestyle change. I have stuck with this far more easily than I ever did with anything else. I have struggled with my weight for years, have done everything from eating only fish and poultry (no red meats), to consistently counting calories and exercising 6 days per week. Nothing helped.

One month off of sugars and processed foods and I have noticed the following:

  1. My weight has gone from 169-162 with no exercise
  2. I have lost inches on my body (I can tell by how old clothes are beginning to fit again
  3. My moods have improved tremendously
  4. My skin on my shoulders and face has cleared up
  5. Aches and pains that I used to have every morning upon waking up have all but disappeared
  6. I have SO.MUCH.ENERGY. No more crashes after meals. I actually WANT to exercise now
  7. I’m not hangry anymore. I can go 6-8 hours before I feel like I’m starving instead of 2-4
  8. I am having a bit of trouble sleeping recently, but this is the only downside of noticed

I’m going to continue to see where this lifestyle change takes me and continue to update. No more McD, no more Coke, no more blah and foggy brain. I feel like the 23 year old that I am rather than a grumpy old lady. I feel like I got my life back

Leave a comment